My DiaryLand Diary
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2004-04-22 - 2:03 p.m.

So, in the past few days a couple of people have asked me to write here...and even though I can't upload pictures anymore--like it matters to anyone but me...but it IS a pain!!!...I can only put a few dweeby pics up...and it has been since my computer crashed in February or whenever that was, and I can't be as colorful therefore, it's no excUse. NO EXCUSE! I have been remiss, it is ture, and you, as my reader, deserve better.

yeah, I have a RESPONSIBILITY, and I know it. "Fifty lashes!", as we used to say merrily in my family. ha, ha, ha.

ha.

A responsibilty, to record in this small diarem (diorama?), in my modest way, the lighting quick flashes that make up my observations of my most excellent adventures and stuff, like Bill and Ted, as someone was emailing me about just today. Yeah, I get cool emails about Bill and Ted. But: who doesn't?

So I have been preoccupied with staring at the ground (shut up! just shut up!!!). The crocuses came up, and fell over and went, and then came the bloodroot. Bloodroot always interests me because if you pick the pretty white flower, when you snap off the stem, out comes this juice which...LOOKS LIKE BLOOD. bwahahaha come here, buffy, take a good look.

here is some general info on bloodroot to take up a whole pile of room in my diary:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Bloodroot General Information

For centuries Native Americans used Bloodroot both as a reddish-orange dye and as a medicine. Some tribes drank Bloodroot tea to treat fevers, sore throats, and joint pain, and other tribes used the somewhat stinging sap on skin cancers. European herbalists prescribed this herb as a treatment for respiratory infections, asthma, joint pain, warts, ringworm, and nasal polyps. From the mid 1800s to the turn of the century, herbalists believed this herb could pull tumors out of the body so they formulated pastes of Bloodroot, flour, water, and zinc chloride and applied it directly to tumors and other cancers.

- - - - - - - - - - - - Back to Top - - - - - - - - - - - -

Bloodroot Uses & Scientific Evidence For

Bloodroot is believed to be an escharotic, which means it can produce scabs. Today Bloodroot salves and pastes are recommended for warts; however, there is no scientific evidence to support its effectiveness. The FDA has approved Bloodroot for use in commercially available toothpastes and oral rinses to inhibit the development of dental plaque and gingivitis. Bloodroot can also be found in cough syrups. Some herbalists recommend drinking Bloodroot tea for respiratory problems.

- - - - - - - - - - - - Back to Top - - - - - - - - - - - -

Bloodroot Dosage Information

To treat respiratory problems, drink one cup of Bloodroot tea 2 or 3 times daily until the problem subsides. To treat warts, make a paste and apply directly to the wart. Excessive application can cause burns on the skin so it is best to start with a small amount to test your skin�s sensitivity. Once your level of tolerance is determined apply the paste for a day or two, then remove it and let a scab form and fall off. Repeat this process until the wart is gone.

- - - - - - - - - - - - Back to Top - - - - - - - - - - - -

Bloodroot Safety & Interaction Information

Taking Bloodroot orally appears to be safe and nontoxic; however, taking Bloodroot in large doses can cause nausea and vomiting. At lower dosages there have been some side effects such as tunnel vision and foot pain. For using orally, it is best to consult with your physician. Topical applications of Bloodroot can cause burns so it is suggested you use caution until you know your tolerance for the herb. Safety in young children, pregnant and nursing women, or those with severe liver or kidney disease is not known.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

and so on and so on: don't touch the stuff. You read it here, first.

So anyway, I like bloodroot, cause it does what it says, it has a BLOOD root. It presages spring to me too. zzzz

Thus endeth the boring part of this entry.

onward to part two, of boring

so I am on a diet, and and all the food in the world won't fill the void that is my yearning stomach. I want sugar. I want

thus endeth part two. both these parts were written three days ago, and then stuff happened and I got busy.

here is what is interesting me now:

part of an email I just sent to someone today:

I came back online because I remembered that they used the phrase "auto da fe" on tv, during The Sopranos" last night, and Jim asked me what it meant. I couldn't tell him. I have known Jim since 1985, and this is the first time that I have been in this position, and he pretended to choke to death and said, "this is worse than 9/11!!!" [no we don't think joking about 9/11 is funny...it was an implication that in a massive way something unbelievably impossibly incomprehensible had taken place, ok?]--and THEN made all sorts of jokes about it, so I remembered right at THIS moment and decided to look it up. stupid that I didn't know it. and then I looked up chemin de fer, just in case. !!! gah!!! I usually know everything!!!

MY GUESS, UPON THINKING WAS AUTO DA FE MEANT "ENDGAME". I LOOKED IT UP:

Main Entry: au�to-da-f�

Pronunciation: "au-tO-d&-'fA, "o-tO-

Function: noun

Inflected Form(s): plural au�tos-da-f� /-tOz-d&-/

Etymology: Portuguese auto da f�, literally, act of the faith

Date: 1723

: the ceremony accompanying the pronouncement of judgment by the Inquisition and followed by the execution of sentence by the secular authorities; broadly : the burning of a heretic

what on earth???

now I am looking up chemin de fer:

Main Entry: che�min de fer

Pronunciation: sh&-"man-d&-'fer

Function: noun

Inflected Form(s): plural che�mins de fer /same/

Etymology: French, literally, railroad

Date: 1891

: a card game in which two hands are dealt, any number of players may bet against the dealer, and the winning hand is the one that comes closer to but does not exceed a count of nine on two or three cards

maybe that is like endgame???

and thus endeth this diary entry.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!